Michigan State University main website

Visiting Professorship

Michigan Molecular Institute (MMI), the former tenant of the St. Andrews faculty, was very focused on continuing education as part of its mission. This led to a steady stream of outside experts through the institute, including the visiting professor program, established in 1973 and renamed in 1981 as a living memorial to the late Dr. Turner J. Alfrey, Jr. Each year, a leading scientist is invited to teach a short course, visit sponsoring organizations, and deliver additional research seminars, benefiting many people by providing a point of connection between local scientists and engineers, with world leaders in the polymer science field.

Speakers from around the world have been invited to present the latest, most up-to-date information in their particular polymer expertise areas. Typically, these courses were delivered in an intensive, one-week, daily lecture format. Visiting professors also spent additional time at MMI, participating in one-on-one and research group discussions at the Institute, and in collaborations and discussions with other nearby industrial and academic researchers. They also prepared and delivered a set of on-site seminars for many of the sponsoring organizations that parallel and supplement the formal course lectures. Financial co-sponsors of the Turner J. Alfrey Visiting Professor program have included the Dow Chemical Company, Dow Corning Corporation, Michigan State University, Central Michigan University, Saginaw Valley State University, the Mid-Michigan Section of the Society of Plastics Engineers, and the Midland Section of the American Chemical Society.

Michigan State University and the St. Andrews’ staff are proud to continue the Turner J. Alfrey Visiting Professorship program and look forward to future events.

The list of Turner J. Alfrey Visiting Professors includes several Nobel Prize winners.

Source: Michigan Molecular Institute Wiki

1974 George Smets, University of Louvain, Belgium
1975 Motowo Takayanagi, Kyūshū University, Japan
1976 Helmut Ringsdorf, University of Mainz, Germany
1977 Anthony Ledwith, University of Liverpool, England
1978 Ora Kedem, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
1979 Bengt Ranby, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
1980 Gerard Riess, Upper Alsace University, France
1981 Kenneth O’Driscoll, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1982 Piero Pino, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland
1983 Robert N. Haward, University of Birmingham, England
1984 Joachim Klein, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany
1985 Norio Ise, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
1986 Robert Gilbert, University of Sydney, Australia
1987 James E. McGrath, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
1988 Robert W. Lenz, University of Massachusetts Amherst
1989 Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, Collège de France, Paris, France
1990 Gerhard Wegner, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
1991 Donald R. Paul, University of Texas, Austin
1992 James Economy, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
1993 Garth L. Wilkes, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
1994 David A. Tirrell, University of Massachusetts Amherst
1995 Christopher W. Macosko, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
1996 Kenneth B. Wagener, University of Florida, Gainesville
1997 Takeji Hashimoto, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
1998 Bruce M. Novak, University of Massachusetts Amherst
2000 Edwin L. Thomas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge
2001 James E. Mark, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati
2002 Roderic P. Quirk, The University of Akron, Akron
2003 Matthew Tirrell, University of California, Santa Barbara
2004 Krzysztof Matyjaszewski, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh
2005 Markus Antonietti, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany
2006 Robert K. Prud’homme, Princeton University
2007 Stephen Z.D. Cheng, The University of Akron, Akron
2008 Thomas P. Russell, University of Massachusetts Amherst
2009 Joseph DeSimone, UNC (Chapel Hill) and NCSU (Raleigh)
2010 Richard A. Gross, New York University, Brooklyn
2011 Timothy P. Lodge, University of Minnesota
2012 Kathryn Uhrich, Rutgers University
2013 Kenneth R. Shull, Northwestern University
2014 Alex Mueller, University of Bayreuth, Bavaria
2015 N/A
2016 N/A
2017 N/A
2018 Jeremiah A. Johnson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology